Charlotte NC Realtor Competes in Lowcountry Splash Open Water Swim in Charleston SC

601971_465099666895287_1608367536_n

On June 1st, I joined about 500 other swimmers for the annual Lowcountry Splash Open Water Swim in Charleston, SC. The swim began at the Howbcaw Yacht Club and ended at beautiful Patriot’s Point right next to the USS Yorktown! En route, we got to swim under the famed Cooper River Bridge!

936329_498501616888425_602953038_nThe swim is both a competition and a fundraiser for the local non-profit, Logan Rutledge Children’s Foundation.

The foundation, which is named in memory of Logan Jennings Rutledge (07/30/02 – 08/26/02), supports LAPS (Lowcountry Aquatic Project Swimming), which strives to teach swimming and water safety to kindergarten and first graders in Charleston County School District’s lowest socioeconomic schools.

947038_492262137512373_1549876858_n
I have never completed an open water event in salt water, and after it was said and done, I was convinced that I’d be tasting salt for weeks!! However, it was an awesome event, I felt great, and I even beat a personal goal of not only completing my longest open water swim to date (2.4 miles), but I also completed it in 48:58, below my goal time of 50 minutes!! I finished 5th in my age group! Furthermore, I suppose I’m 1/3 of an Ironman, as 2.4 miles is the same distance as the swim portion of the Ironman triathlon!
Along the way, it was great fun to train and work hard, as that makes the accomplishment that much sweeter.

karennfriendafter

Making the day even better was swimming with my friends – fellow Coldwell Banker agent Bryam Frick, and also my Masters Swimming buds Mary Dore, Sandra Cathey and Jeremy Walton.

amynkaren

It was a thrill to be welcomed at the finish line into the arms of my husband Roger and my two girls, as well as my sister and brother-in-law, Amy and Brian Brennan!!!

431844_498501763555077_340134424_n

I LOVED this event and am already looking forward to next year!!
Next on the list… an open water swim at Cane Creek in July!  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

