Goodbye 2013, thanks for the memories…Here comes 2014!

Whew! I can’t believe 2014 is already here and how fast 2013 passed by. Each year seems to go faster than the year prior! In fact, the end of the year snuck up so quickly, I’m a week later than planned in getting this post out!

If I look back on 2013 and the moves and decisions I made professionally, moving to CENTURY 21 Real Estate Consultants was the biggest… and what a wonderful transition it has been! C21 REC is an amazing, tech-focused, fun and professional firm, and I am so proud to call it home! In 5 short months, we’ve opened 2 offices and hired more than 20 top-notch agents. 2014 looks VERY bright!

Image

I’m also proud to report that 2013 marked my most successful year since I began my real estate career in 2007. Making this milestone even sweeter is that most of my business came from referrals (past clients, friends, relatives, business contacts and partners, etc)! Referrals are the best way to sustain my business; they demonstrate that my partners know, respect and value the work I do, and that is the best compliment I can hope to receive!

Lastly on the professional front, 2013 was an amazing year for my business networking group, Providence Business Partners. It’s the best networking group in Charlotte, and I have had the pleasure of membership for nearly three years. I recently became president of our chapter of 33, and we have ambitious plans to continue our growth in number and in value. The group has been a tremendous generator of business for me, but also a tremendous source of value for my clients and for me as we work through various real estate transactions.

I have also worked hard to give back to the community through charitable work and projects in 2013. During breast cancer awareness month, I raised money for Susan G. Komen for the Cure®. I purchased and sold pink bows (as part of a Charlotte fundraiser that raised more than $220k) for many friends and clients to tie on their mailboxes (or “for sale” signs) to help with the awareness! Earlier in the year I did an open water swim to help raise funds to help kids to learn to swim; a cause near and dear to my heart! I also organized REALTORS Care Day for my office in the spring. REALTORS Care Day is a day when hundreds of realtors volunteer in the community repairing homes for those less fortunate. I look forward to organizing that for C21 REC in 2014!! During the summer, my girls and I were very active with Elevation Church’s annual “Love Week,” where we participated in several projects to help those in need in our community – and around the world! Lastly, I was very active on the board of our neighborhood swim team, where I was in charge of all of the volunteers – ensuring we had people to staff and run our meets. For a team of more than 125 swimmers, this was no small feat!

ImageImage

On the personal side, 2013 has been a great year in the Kitzmiller household. My husband Roger completed his first full year running his own software development business after leaving his corporate job at the end of 2012. He had great success in his first year, and I’m very proud of him! It’s been lots of fun having TWO small business owners in the household. Our girls love having both of us around and flexible… but they’re also pretty used to seeing mom and dad do at least some bit of work most days of the week (such is the life of a business owner!)

Image

Speaking of our girls – they have been amazing as always. McKenzie finished out her freshman year in high school and is half way through her sophomore year. She received her learner’s permit in August and is driving and doing a great job. She is also very involved in our church (Elevation) and is a student leader of her youth group. She has really grown in her leadership and her focus on trying to give back to others, and that has been a really cool thing to watch. She’s becoming a really fantastic young woman!

ImageImage

Anja finished out 6th grade and is half way through her 7th grade school year. Her swimming has really taken off, and she is in her second year of a year-round team, Mecklenburg Swim Association. She also made the Middle School swim team this year, which is a very, very competitive team, so that was a very proud moment for Roger and me!

ImageImage

Both girls have done well in school with some very challenging course loads. They really are such wonderful little human beings, and we are so happy that we get to be their parents!

Image

My swimming efforts continued as well. Earlier this year I completed my longest open water swim to date, which was a 2.3-mile swim in the Charleston (SC) harbor. It was also my first salt-water swim, and one I am planning on doing again in 2014. I have been very active in my Masters swim team as well and have a swim meet coming up at the end of January.

Image

For the holidays our family headed down to the Myrtle Beach area to spend Christmas with my dad and his girlfriend, and my brother and his family. A highlight of that trip was seeing my brother, who will be entering seminary, preach at his local church. He did an amazing job and had a great message to share! We then headed back to Charlotte NC to spend time with Roger and his mom, dad, brother and wife for New Years. It’s wonderful living close enough to spend time with both sides of the family. We are very fortunate.

ImageImage

Image

I hope 2013 was wonderful for you! Here is to a healthy, happy and prosperous 2014!!

Image

Karen Kitzmiller

Leave a Reply

